Skip to content

Radio interview 11/16: N. T. Wright, John Dominic Crossan, and Willis Barnstone

November 16, 2011

I note that an NPR-affiliate radio station in San Francisco, KQED-FM, will be broadcasting an hour-long discussion today with N. T. Wright, John Dominic Crossan, and Willis Barnstone (author of The Restored New Testament) at 10AM PST (= Noon CST = 1PM EST = 6PM GMT = 6PM UTC = 7PM CET) on the topic of “Jesus in 2011.”

The line-up promises to be a blast.

If you want to call in with a question, live streaming is available from this page.

I won’t be able to listen to this program live, but the discussion should be available for download at this link after broadcast.

Advertisements
5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2011 3:01 pm

    I finally had a chance to listen to radio show and found it less interesting than I had hoped.

  2. November 17, 2011 6:04 pm

    Thank you for sharing anyway!

    I was surprised how much I liked N. T. Wright but didn’t hear much new from Crossan (although his book on gospel as parable sounds fascinating, and I wanted to hear more) or from Barnstone (who may be re-working, updating, and expanding his The New Covenant Commonly Called The New Testament in which he wrote, “There are and always will be many tones and ways, from Milton to Cole Porter, of making poems and writing down words. I prescribe to no single way but hope, in my own attempts, for plainness and lyrical clarity. Despite the dissuasions of missing line breaks, it is clear that one of the world’s major poets is and has been for two millennia Yeshua the Messiah. His pen was in the hands of others who recorded and translated his words into Greek.”). The interview didn’t give time for these things.

  3. November 18, 2011 12:58 pm

    Yes, the format caused this program to largely be a review of their well-known theses, rather than an exploration of fundamentally new material (although I think you are right about Wright; he was largely reacting in real time to the other two interviewees, and thus was fresher and more original.)

Trackbacks

  1. Forthcoming book: Willis Barnstone’s “The Poems of Jesus Christ.” « BLT
  2. Hal Taussig’s “A New New Testament” (and the Open English Bible) | BLT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: